Essential Initial and Continuing Training Process for FAR
Education 4894

Essential Initial and Continuing Training Process for FAR

Essential Initial and Continuing Training Process for FAR

Under FAA requirements, all air carrier operators must provide initial and recurrent pilot training to their pilots. Section 135.293, Title 14 of the Code of Federal Regulations outlines the training requirements for Part 135 of the FAR.

With each Part 135  air carrier except for operators limited to a single pilot or a single pilot in command (P.I.C.), the FAA must approve training curriculums, instructors, and check pilots. A comprehensive, up-to-date, and compliant training program is the operator’s responsibility.

A company’s training program must be created and refined by the FAA when the company begins operations, as soon as they buy new equipment, move to a new environment, receive new permissions, or put under new FAA terms.

The FAA must approve the curricula used by flight crew members, instructors and check pilots to ensure that the training is complete, current, and compliant with the regulations.

Part 135 Certification Process

There are five distinct phases and three gates in the certification process of FAR part 135 training certification process. Before moving on to the next phase of the process, you must complete a step.

They cannot certify a prospective certificate holder until the FAA is confident that they can fulfill the required responsibilities and will adhere to the 14 CFR consistently and appropriately.

We’ll take a quick look at the phases of certification below

Phase 1–Pre-application

Prospective applicants begin this phase by requesting an application for an air carrier or air operator certificate. An individual or organization can start this phase, either in writing or through informal meetings with district office staff. In this phase, expect:

The applicant will apply for access to the FAA Safety Assurance System External Portal. Through the SAS External Portal, certificate holders and applicants (CH/A) can communicate more directly, efficiently, and quickly with the FAA.

Because of the SAS. External Portal, CH/As can:

● Electronically review and submit information
● Check the status of their documents

How to Review the Status of the Submitted Information

The SAS. External Portal Information Guide is an excellent resource that contains additional information and links for applicants and certificate holders.

The applicant will submit an FAA Form 8400-6 Pre-application Statement of Intent (PASI) to the local Flight Standards District Office via the FAA’s Safety Assurance System (SAS). External Portal Applicants, however, cannot access the SAS.

External Portal applicants may submit the PASI to the local FSDO, who will enter the information from the PASI into SAS.

When the FAA accepts the PASI, the office manager will start the Certification Service Oversight Process (CSOP).

CSOP is a process that the FAA uses to determine if it has the resources to conduct initial certification and the continued operational safety oversight for a certificate applicant.

The applicant and their key management personnel will attend a pre-application meeting with the Certification Team assigned to the certification project.

Phase 2 – Formal Application

The formal application phase begins when the FAA certification team receives the standard application and required documents.

It would help to submit the following item:

● Formal Application Letter
● Schedule of Events
● Compliance Statement
● Company Manuals (GOM and GMM) if required by Operation
● Training Curricula if needed for Operation
● Management Qualification Attachments (Resumes)
● Documents of purchase, contracts, and lease attachments.
● SAS. Element Design Assessment Tools (ED-DCT’s)
● Proposed Operations Specifications

Phase 3 — Design Assessment

This phase of the certification process involves reviewing the design and operating manuals of the applicant thoroughly to ensure compliance with applicable regulations and compliance with safe operating practices.

Phase 4 — Performance Assessment

Here, the certification team determines whether training and directing personnel is a successful procedure or program the applicant has proposed. If you follow the applicant’s operating manuals and regulations during this phase will be of great help.

Phase 5 — Administrative Functions

The FAA will issue the applicant with the certificate and the operation specifications during this phase. Once they’ve given these documents, the certification process is complete. An applicant cannot be certified by the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) unless the certification project manager (C.P.M.) deems them capable of fulfilling their responsibilities.

In addition, they must ensure the applicant complies with Title 14 of the Code of Federal Regulations (14 CFR) promptly as dictated by Title 49 of the United States Code (49 USC).

Initial and Recurrent FAR Part 135 Online Training Providers

There are three types of online FAR part 135 training providers:

1. High-end software, complete customization

These are vendors who offer extensive features and allow the customization of content to the fullest extent. However, they are much more expensive than traditional classroom training.

2. Mid-range software, complete customization

The company provides standard solutions for e-learning but also offers the option to customize and support the content. They provide high-quality customer support and content customization at a lower price than their high-end counterparts.

3. Low-end software, limited customization

These are platforms that provide essential e-learning solutions and offer limited customization options and support. The least expensive option in most cases, but you handle some content development and support.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply