What Disabilities are Covered by NDIS?

What Disabilities are Covered by NDIS?

The NDIS is a government initiative aimed at funding the costs associated with disability. And while it does cover a wide range of conditions, identifying which disabilities are covered could be challenging.

Below are the list of NDIS covered disabilities as well as some tips to help you find your NDIS provider Melbourne around town.

NDIS-covered disabilities

The NDIA has outlined a streamlined process for determining disability access requirements. Below is the NDIS list of disabilities that can help make the process more efficient and effective for both the agency and the applicants.

Empowering lives with ndis support coordinators perth. Personalized assistance, quality care, and access to services for a brighter future. Discover the difference now!

Here are the conditions that are likely to meet disability requirements.

List A:

  • Intellectual disability
  • Autism
  • Cerebral palsy
  • Spinal cord injury or brain injury
  • Permanent blindness
  • Permanent bilateral hearing loss
  • Deafblindness
  • Amputation

People diagnosed with the aforementioned medical conditions are more likely to meet the disability requirements. The said conditions, by their very nature, are considered to cause permanent impairment and disability which could result in a significant reduction in one’s functional capacity.

Patients applying for NDIS funding with the above conditions, need to provide evidence of the apparent disorder with a diagnosis or an assessment from an authorized specialist. Here are a few examples.

Intellectual disability – Patients must be diagnosed and assessed as moderate, severe or profound in accordance with current DSM criteria.

Autism – Patients must be diagnosed by a specialist multi-disciplinary team, pediatrician, psychiatrist, or clinical psychologist experienced in the assessment of Pervasive Developmental Disorders, and assessed using the current Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-V) diagnostic criteria as having severity of Level 2 (Requiring substantial support) or Level 3 (Requiring very substantial support).

Cerebral palsy – Patients must be diagnosed and assessed as severe.

Spinal cord and brain injury – Patients assessed must show severe or total loss of strength and movement in the affected limbs of the body.

Deafblindness – Patients must be assessed and condition confirmed by an ophthalmologist and audiologist. Condition must result in permanent and severe, to total impairment of visual function and hearing.

Patients that fall under the category of “List A” will have a higher chance of qualifying for an NDIS funding. However, some conditions may require further evaluation.

Below are the conditions where further assessment may be required.

List B:

  • Conditions that may result in intellectual or learning impairment
  • Conditions that may result in neurological impairment
  • Conditions that may result in physical impairment
  • Conditions that may result in sensory and/or speech impairment
  • Conditions that may result in multiple types of impairment

Because the aforementioned conditions will have variable factors in functional capacity, further assessment is generally required. Patients who claim to have the above disabilities will have to demonstrate the severity of their condition.

The categories that the agency is looking for in terms of evaluating the conditions include:

  • Impairments that can result in a reduction of one’s functional capacity to perform one or more activities.
  • Impairments that can affect one’s capacity to participate in social or economic activities.
  • Impairments that will be more likely to require a lifetime support.

Applicants that meet the NDIS recognised disabilities will have their applications assessed by the NDIA. When approved, these patients can expect to receive funding based on different schemes with the most common ones being the Individual Support Packages (ISP) and the Disability Support Register (DSR).

Approval and Plan Execution

With a plan approved, applicants can start receiving NDIS funding which they can choose to manage themselves. In the event that the patient cannot manage the plan, they can ask assistance from the NDIA in managing their plan to pay for their support.

The NDIA can arrange for the funding to be managed by the agency or pay for a plan manager. The former means that patients do not have to worry about things like book-keeping and making payments for their supports, although they cannot select unregistered providers which can limit their choices. The latter will still allow patients some level of freedom in choosing their providers while learning from the plan manager ways on how to self-manage their plans and increasing their financial and plan management skills.

When choosing a provider, it’s best to find one that offers specialised services and will work with the patient to help achieve the NDIS goals they set out. Services you would want to see a provider offer include:

  • Personal in-home care
  • Support coordination
  • Transportation assistance
  • Professional cleaning
  • Companionship services
  • Assistance with living arrangements


Knowing what disabilities does NDIS cover and the conditions they need to meet can help you have a higher chance of getting your application approved. And while approval will always be the agency’s prerogative, knowing what possible conditions are covered can help you get the assistance you deserve.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *