Discover 2021 Missouri Medical Marijuana Patient Instructions

Discover 2021 Missouri Medical Marijuana Patient Instructions

Missouri residents have had access to MMJ since 2018. It’s been a smooth journey for all those who keep up-to-date with the Missouri medical marijuana patients’ instructions. First, you’ll need to apply for an MMJ card to access medical cannabis. Below are the steps to get a medical cannabis card in Missouri.

Qualifying Conditions

  • Cancer
  • HIV
  • Glaucoma
  • Epilepsy
  • Intractable migraine
  • Severe muscle spasm
  • ALS
  • Inflammatory bowel disease
  • Psychiatric disorders
  • A chronic condition that turns to a psychiatric problem after treatment
  • Any terminal illness
  • Huntington’s disease
  • Crohn’s disease
  • Sickle cell anemia
  • Neuropathies
  • Alzheimer’s disease agitation
  • Cachexia and wasting syndrome
  • Any chronic and debilitating ailment that a doctor approves. 

Appropriate Age to use MMJ

You can apply for a Missouri MMJ card if you are above 18 years and have any of the above qualifying conditions. Also, it’d help if you were a Missouri permanent resident. The Missouri medical marijuana patient instructions allow minors to apply for an MMJ card. However, they need consent from their parents or legal guardians. Also, the adults will handle all the application paperwork and purchase MMJ for the minor. They can re-apply for the drug after they attain 18 years. 


If a patient needs a caregiver, they can get one. First, they require having a close relation with the patient. Then, the caregiver needs to have a patient’s authorization form. You can get the form in the dept of the public health website. A caregiver then applies online through the registry portal. 

A qualified caregiver should be at least 21 years. Also, they should be in charge of the patient’s health. Importantly, they shouldn’t hold a criminal record, especially relating to drug use and trafficking. 

One patient can have up to two caregivers. On the other hand, a caregiver can take care of three patients. 

A primary caregiver can buy MMJ for their patients. Also, they can grow a few cannabis plants on behalf of their patients. The number of plants depends on the patients under their care. 

You can only be a caregiver to minor patients if you are their parent or legal guardian. 

No caregiver has the right to sell MMJ. The offense can lead to the revocation of the caregiver’s license. 

Possession and Cultivation Limits

An MMJ patient or caregiver can have at most 4 ounces (0.15 kg) of dried MMJ within 30 days. The law ensures you do not overuse the drug.

A patient or caregiver can plant at most six plants in their backyard. They can also share the cultivation space, which should hold at most 12 plants. 

Past Convictions and Possession 

All past convictions do not bar a patient from getting an MMJ card. However, the Missouri medical marijuana patient instructions are strict over criminal conduct after getting the card. The authorities will revoke your card, and you’ll be charged. 

Gun Ownership for MMJ Card Holders

Missouri laws do not prohibit MMJ patients from buying and owning a gun. But you may not possess the same due to the restrictions from the federal rules. The law enforcement on gun possession and marijuana use solely depend on the federal government.


When using edibles, check the package for the THC content. Some brands don’t have full information about marijuana content. It’d help if you avoided such brands as they pose a risk to your health. 

A safe package should have a list of all active and inactive ingredients. They should also indicate the amount of each ingredient is within the package. 


Missouri medical marijuana patient instructions are assessed regularly. These are the current laws all patients should know. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *