5 lowest scores by Mumbai Indians in IPL history

5 lowest scores by Mumbai Indians in IPL history

Mumbai Indians (MI) are the most successful team of the Indian Premier League (IPL) that have won the prestigious title for 4 times. They have done the unpredicted in 2013, 2015, 2017 and 2019 respectively. Even in the Dream11 prediction category, the Team has always ranked high to win an IPL match and the Trophy. 


The Skipper of Mumbai Indians is Rohit Sharma, and it has gained supremacy in acquiring able and formidable players from their Auction pool. They also not only added fresh talents but even retained choicest players like Lasith Malinga and Kieron Pollard. 

Mumbai Indians are also known to begin the IPL season on a slow note, and the Team takes time to gather pace. But once they get going, they don’t stop unless they have the Trophy. They have created a rivalry with many Teams, and one of them is the Chennai Super Kings (CSK). They have struggled over the IPL’s initial days with some lackluster performances. 

Despite dominating recently, the Rohit Sharma-led side has showcased a dismal performance on many occasions.

#5 – 92 Vs Sunrisers Hyderabad (2016) 

In this match against the Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH), Rohit won the toss and opted to bowl first. But Sharma soon regretted his decision when SRH openers (Shikhar Dhawan and David Warner) gave their Team a sizzling beginning and hit 82* and 48. Yuvraj Singh added more and SRH asked MI to chase 178 in 20 overs. In reply, the strong-looking batting order of MI collapsed. The number 8 batsman (Harbhajan Singh’s 21) was the highest scorer, and it told the story of the game. Mustafizur Rahman and Ashish Nehra were best for SRH as they claimed 3 wickets each. MI had its side back in the pavilion at the score of 30, and they were bowled out for a paltry 92. This match was like a shock not only for Mumbai Indians fans but even for experts making today’s match prediction that MI will win.  

# 4 – 92 Against Rajasthan Royals (2013) 

Ricky Ponting was the Captain of Mumbai Indians in 2013 and had lots of strength in their playing XI such as Sachin Tendulkar and Mitchell Johnson. But the match was more about bowlers. Ajinkya Rahane led from the front with an unbeaten 68 and helped Rajasthan Royals post a total of 179/3. In chasing 180 to win, Mumbai Indians crumbled under pressure from Royals’ bowlers. Only one batsman reached double digit other than Ambati Rayudu and Dinesh Karthik who top scored with 28 and 30 respectively. MI was bundled out for 92. James Faulkner was the key wicket taker for RR as he picked 3 vital wickets, including Karthik’s wicket. But Mumbai Indians went on to win the IPL Trophy in 2013, and this performance did not have any bearing on the rest of the campaign. 

#3 – 92 Vs Delhi Daredevils (2012)

Mumbai Indians batted first in the clash Vs Delhi Daredevils in 2012 and Richard Levi and Davy Jacobs. The strategy did not bore fruits as both were dismissed in the 4th over with only 1 run between them. Rohit Sharma was left to rescue the ship, but he kept losing partners on the other end as Delhi bowlers ripped apart the batting order of MI. Harbhajan Singh was MI’s Captain who scored most for the Team with 33, but that was not enough as the Team was packed for 92. 

#2 – 87 Against Kings XI Punjab (2011) 

In this match, the Kings XI Punjab Team boasted of talents like Adam Gilchrist and Shaun Marsh and was asked to bat first by the Mumbai Indians. Punjab scored 163 for 8 after their quota of 20 overs. MI’s pick of the bowler was Munaf Patel, who ended up taking 5 wickets. The final total was not considered satisfying, especially after being provided with a solid start by the openers. With 164 required for the win, MI had all sorts of issues with stalwarts like Sachin Tendulkar and more back in their pavilion. They were 3 down in the 4th over. The rest of the squad could not do much and fold for 87, MI’s lowest total in the history of the IPL. 

# 1 87 – Against Sunrisers Hyderabad (2018) 

Mumbai Indians, during the 2018 IPL season went on to level their lowest total made registered 7 years before. MI won the Toss and asked Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH). The decision sounded good for MI’s bowling unit consisting Hardik Pandya, and Mitchell McClenaghan bundled SRH for 118 only. The target of 119 looked modest for the Team of MI to achieve comfortably. But MI’s batting order went crumbling like a pack of cards. Only Suryakumar Yadav and Krunal Pandya scored with 34 and 24. None other managed double digits. Sidharth Kaul scalped 3 wickets for SRH as they went on to win a low scoring game by a margin of 31 runs. It was another example of all Dream11 predictions faltering apart that hoped that MI would win and help users win cool cash.  

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *